Popular Questions from students during High School Data Science Presentations

After giving more than 6 data science presentations in California these are some common questions I have received as well as my answers. I hope to post more solutions in the future!

Q1. How do you use data science?

In my classroom

I use data science in my classroom to give students performance reports. Below is an example of how a student compared with their classmates.

Below is another example of how I measure my students regarding specific concepts they learn in class.

In my life

I use data science to evaluate many aspects of my life. Below is a graph of my weight back in 2019.

Another example of using data science in my life is by tracking my goals throughout the week.

Q2. Are there communities for women in data science?

There are plenty of opportunities and organizations for women in data science. Here are a few places to gain more information regarding communities that promote women in data science, R ladies and Women in data science conference.

Q3. What programming language should be used for data science?

Python hands down, however, R is a great place to start and R studio (a place to program in R) allows you to program in R and python. R is a great beginner language. The R community is friendly and their are many free resources to learn data science.

Immanuel Williams PhD
Immanuel Williams PhD
Lecturer of Statistics

My passion is to help people learn…

Related